The development of fear

When I was little my father taught me to be aware of my surroundings at all times. This is one piece of advice that man has taught me that I have actually hung onto years after breaking ties with him. Be aware of your surroundings. When I was first dating Jeremy, making  10+ hour drives through the desert at night at a young age, he used to tell me that I should be more afraid, that every time I took that drive I risked something happening. He also told me I should be scared of prison, of prisoners, of Jeremy.

I believe in risk and reward. I believe that anything could happen at any time, and though I make some bold and unconventional moves in my life, I still keep a healthy dose of fear. Entering a maximum security prison at the age of 18 to visit a man I`d never met before shook me to my core, but if I had not done it, I would have never met the man who would become my husband. I would have never met my soul mate.

I`m driving out to Ely today which is roughly a 5 hour drive through highway 50 and my mom is worried, of course. She always worries. Talking to her this morning, I had to give her a pep talk about my healthy fear and how I`m aware, and I got this. There is a fine line between having the confidence to complete something and being totally unsure about what lies ahead. I walk that line with Jeremy on a daily basis. Fear is important. It keeps you grounded. I`m not saying you have to cower in the presence of it, but I believe that keeping the notion to expect the unexpected is what keeps us alive.

Here’s to fear.

Image

About Desiree

Living my truth, one post at a time. View all posts by Desiree

One response to “The development of fear

  • fitmommyforlife

    Such a true post! I think there are way too many people in the world lacking this awareness and understanding of the possibilities… I remember when I was younger I sometimes envied those people that could throw caution to the wind and just do something crazy. As I look back however, I’m thankful that my parents instilled that caution and awareness in me! It’s something that has not only kept me alive but also kept me out of really nasty situations.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

